The Art of Cleanliness

 

I’m wasting away
It’s part of my instinct
I’ll run away
From everything I hate
Take this away
Help me escape
Take this away
I confess

Innocence
Innocence
Innocence

 

Confession (What’s Inside My Head) by Red

 

Clean. Two things pop into my mind when I think of the word clean. Free from dirt. Pure. And those just happen to be the two most common definitions. I had never thought of diving deeper into the meaning of this word. How does this affect me?

 

Clean – morally uncontaminated; pure; innocent

 

Innocent. Pure. Untouched by the immoral insanity of this world. I hear this most often referring to children. Babies. Entering into a world of despair. A world filled with desire. Longing for more. A world that believe innocence is lost. Unattainable.

 

Innocent – not responsible for or directly involved in an event yet suffering its consequences

 

This is an imperfect world. Daily we are pushed in directions we can’t see. I’m wasting away, it’s part of my instinct. What an incredible thought. Instinctively, we waste away. We run, hide, protect ourselves from imagination. From the terrifying thoughts that fill our minds, enticing us to proceed. Where do we feel safe? Where can we hide away to feel pure? We each long to feel clean. Untouched by the lies breathing down our necks.

 

Well, I’ve heard that the devil’s walking around

I sold my soul way down in the dirt

But stole it back and forever in debt

 

And for a moment I don’t even care

Until I feel his breath at my neck

And maybe even you can feel it too

He’s on a strike and looking at you

 

Heaven nor Hell by Volbeat

 

This one lie chases us all. Each day it tries to break us. To force us to the edge. There is no way out. Mistakes make us unclean. There is no changing that. We try to steal back our soul, but it doesn’t matter. The deed has already been done.

But we change. We evolve into someone different every day. The changes are subtle, but profound. They will have a life changing effect. Forget the past. Forget the mistakes. That wasn’t you. Not you today. Cleanliness is achievable. At times it won’t be your truth. At times you won’t see your innocence. You will fail. And then your soul will mutate. But how it changes is up to you.

 

via Daily Prompt: Clean

Leave a comment